Time For Truth

A place to grow in the Grace & Knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ

Some who call themselves Christian believe that Jesus Never Existed

Sometimes it is hard to believe, but there are actually people who hold ordained ministerial positions in churches who believe that Jesus never existed. For this group of “Christian” (I am using the term very loosely) leaders, the Jesus Seminar was simply not liberal enough. Yes, they discarded most of the words of the gospels as original. Yes, they rejected any form of supernatural miracle. But what was left, was a human guy, who said a few nice sounding things (not much reason to crucify the guy). But for many who wish to completely shed the shackles of orthodoxy, this was simply not going far enough. We must discard the person of Jesus entirely. He never lived. He is entirely fictional. There is even a so-called scholarly group that is working on this – funded by universities (many of which were originally founded by completely orthodox Christians) and I am guessing even a few denominations. They call it the Jesus Project of all things. As I thought about this group, it occurred to me that they need a theme hymn. So with apologies to Anna Warner and David Rutherford McGuire (the writers of Jesus Loves Me), I offer up a reworded theme hymn for the Jesus Project and all those who think there is something to this bovine excrement. (For a full refutation of all of this bologna there is an excellent and highly scholarly book entitled Jesus and the Eyewitnesses, written by Richard Bauckham, which I will be reviewing in an upcoming blog entry.)

(REFRAIN) Yes, Jesus loves me! Yes, Jesus loves me!
Yes, Jesus loves me! For I made him so.

  1. Jesus loves me! This I know,
    Because he’s fiction, I made him so,
    Little ones are ignorant;
    They’ll believe everything I chant.
    (Refrain)
  2. Jesus loves me! This I know,
    That and water make plants grow,
    You’ll not find him in history,
    He is myth and mystery.
    (Refrain)
  3. Jesus loves me still today,
    If you think he existed, that’s o.k.,
    He’s the bread and he’s the vine,
    He’s just a story and not divine.
    (Refrain)
February 6, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. Wow–what a creative hymn, and so appropriate. It reminds me of an apocryphal story of some African-American church folk who were listening to a talk given by Paul Tillich. At one point the pastor stands up, and starts to eat an apple. Between bites, he asks Tillich if he could tell if the apple was sweet or bitter. Tillich stammered out that he had never tasted the apple, so he had no way of knowing. The old pastor replied, “Well sir, you ain’t tasted my apple, and you ain’t never tasted my Jesus either!” The Jesus Project “scholars” have obviously never had a taste of this same Jesus. I’ll be looking forward to the book review!

    Comment by John R Kerr | February 9, 2009

  2. John,

    Thank you for your kind comments and the wonderful illustration. Do you know if it is accurate historically or apocryphal, as I might make use of it in the future?

    In Christ our Lord,
    Adel

    Comment by Adel | February 9, 2009

  3. Oops! Sorry John. I missed where you indicated that it was apocryphal.

    Thank you,
    Adel

    Comment by Adel | February 9, 2009

  4. Adel,

    There you go, posting over at Shuck’s. You know they only want scholarship, if they can define who the scholars are.

    BTW have you read either “Lord or Legend” or “The Jesus Legend” by Greg Boyd and Paul Eddy? “Lord or Legend” is a little “less scholarly” while the other is a little deeper. I especially like how they look at recent oral history studies which seem to debunk the notion that accurate history cannot be passed orally.

    Comment by Craig | February 9, 2009

  5. Hi Craig,

    That is a very flattering picture of you…I must say.

    Shuck’s site is an amazing resource of all things anti-Christian, and often provides me a kick-off point for teaching and blog entries.

    I have not read those books yet, but will put them on my to read list, which seems to get longer by the moment…Of the writing of books there is no end. Thank you for the reference information.

    Comment by Adel | February 9, 2009

  6. Adel,

    that would be a flattering picture of me if I were much older. I have no idea where the picture came from, it shows up here and one other place. It’s not on my profile. Enjoy the books.

    Craig

    Comment by Craig | February 9, 2009


Leave a Reply

