Time For Truth

A place to grow in the Grace & Knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ

How dare you save my child’s life!

Isn’t this a beautiful little girl.

 

Well it seems that a children’s hospital in Quebec saved her life…sounds wonderful doesn’t it.

 

I wonder if the parent’s will do something nice for the hospital, doctors and nurses who cared for their beautiful little girl.

 

Hmmm… I guess not…you can read the story about this here.

It seems that the parent’s decided to take this little girl off of life support and remove the feeding tube (she was just an infant and obviously could not feed herself). But instead the hospital decided that she could be saved. So, they saved her. And now the mother (I use the term loosely) has to stay at home and take care of her daughter (what a concept), so they are suing the hospital for saving the life of their daughter who is not completely healthy and able to take care of herself at 18 months. What a wonderful way to say thank you for saving my child’s life…I’ll see you in court.

March 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

6 Comments »

  1. That is a beautiful little girl. I can only hope that they appreciate the miracle that she is. You know there’s a “but” coming.

    I have never been put in this situation. Modern medicine does save a lot of babies who would have died a few decades ago. Now, the parents of this cutie, have the financial burden of caring for her, possibly for the rest of their lives. It doesn’t say anywhere in the article that they didn’t want her. They could have let child welfare take her. When does medicine cross the line?

    These parents have been through a nightmare and I’m sure they are only looking at having enough money to help take care of the little one. Is that right? I don’t know, I ‘m not a big fan of lawsuits.

    You’ll probably say that it is God’s will for this child to be alive. Okay, we’ll go with that, but that doesn’t make the life of this family any easier.

    Comment by Sam Mack | March 17, 2009

  2. Loved the rational from the couple, “They say they thought that if there was never going to be quality of life for their baby girl then why let her suffer,” [translation: we’ll have to sacrifice our lifestyle by actually caring for our child.]What I can’t figure out is they’re in Quebec. There should be a whole bunch of ‘other people’s money’ available to help care for the child. After all it is the bastion of the state run society up North.

    Comment by redcleric | March 18, 2009

  3. red,
    I don’t know much about how things work in Canada, but I also thought they took care of medical and daycare issues. If a reader out there knows the Canadian system, maybe you can let us know?

    Sam,

    Thank you for highlighting the terrible emotional and personal burden that the parents have gone and continue to go through.
    Yet I don’t believe it minimizes their attitude and choices.

    There is a woman I know who was born with cerebral palsey, the cause being hospital and doctor negligence. The parents (this was over 40 years ago) who already had three kids, were urged by the hospital to send this little girl away to an institution and think of her no longer. They, being good baptists, would not hear of this and the mother (who was a nurse herself) took care of this little girls every need. The parent’s did such a terrific job that this little girl thrived and was eventually mainstreamed into public school (unheard of at that time) due to the instance of the parents. Their daughter went on to graduate with dual degrees — one being pharmacy — the first with CP to do so from that state. She went on to get her Masters degree, get married and have three sons. Yes, she is my wife of 18 years.

    There is a serious difference in the attitudes of these parents. One set believes that hardships and trials simply get in the way of a fulfilled life and their dreams of how things ought to be. The other sees even the hardships as a gift from God — especially when it comes in the form of a wonderful beautiful daughter, no matter her health. One set pursues ease, comfort and the “good life” whatever that looks like. The other seeks faithfulness to God and love and caring even if it costs. One seeks to be recompensed for their “suffering” financially. The other refused even government aid, but looked only to God and the strength he gave them to care for their family and give abundantly to their church and those around them on top of it.

    There just seems to be a world of difference. And I write this with fear and trembling knowing that I am probably more like the Canadian couple, but always praying that God gives me the strength and courage to be more like the my in-laws.

    The problem is that I think our culture used to look more like the baptist couple, but has become predominantly like the Canadian, and very soon there won’t be anyone like my in-laws.

    Comment by Adel | March 18, 2009

  4. This is a VERY difficult story. On one hand, I would like to applaud the doctors for saving her life. On the other hand, I can’t imagine the emotional toll this must have taken. The grief of the acceptance of imminent death, the joy of a life saved, and the uncertainty of the future.

    The capability of modern medicine grows more remarkable with each passing day. Having said that, at what point does it over step. I watched as my father died from cancer just over a year ago. The doctors told us almost immediately after his diagnosis of lung cancer that it was terminal and that we should be prepared for maybe three months, maybe three years. He died in three weeks. I miss him terribly and would give almost anything to have one more day with him. Conversely, I would have also given almost anything at the time to take away his suffering. What I know, is that neither option was my choice. My father died, and the grace that God showed us throughout there entire time was the most remarkable experience of my life. In my father’s final days and minutes, God gave him the opportunity to confirm in us everything he had ever demonstrated; love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control. If I live to be 100, or die tomorrow, I may never experience a greater gift on this earth.

    Where is the separation between what medicine can do, and what it should do? In this case, I have to rely on my faith, that it was God’s will that the doctors took the actions they did. And it was God’s will that this precious baby also have the opportunity to show us the fruits of the spirit (as I see in her photo) whether it is for a short time, or 100 years.

    Comment by Rob Sayler | March 18, 2009

  5. Rob,

    Thank you for your very moving and poignant personal reflection.
    May the grace and peace of our Lord, and the sure foundation of his resurrection continue to give you strength and hope.

    In His Grace we live.

    Comment by Adel | March 18, 2009

  6. Adel,

    When I first read this particular blog, I immediately thought of Lynn. Thank you for sharing her story – she is a shining example of the fruits of the spirit and the product of incredible love and selflessness from her parents!

    Comment by Rob Sayler | March 18, 2009


Leave a Reply

