Time For Truth

A place to grow in the Grace & Knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ

Thoughts on what it means for me to be an American

The impetus for the American Revolution was George III initiating a tea tax, the stamp act and the Townshend Act.  Taxes as an impetus for revolution?  This seems almost beyond belief to me as one who lives with modern Western sensibilities.  Yet in the Declaration of Independence, Thomas Jefferson called George III a tyrant for having “erected a multitude of new offices, and sent hither swarms of officers to harass our people and eat out their substance.”  All because of taxes that were erected to pay for the growing costs of British government.  Today, those who object to rising taxes are excoriated as bigoted selfish tyrants.  Is something wrong with this scenario?  Is there something incongruous about the founding principles of this country and the sensibilities of recent decades?

As an almost first generation immigrant (I was 5 years old) and naturalized citizen, I know what it means for my parents to work very hard to provide for the basic needs of their children.  I look at my wife’s parents and the amazing sacrifices they made for their family, which included two special needs children.  They refused any offer of government assistance, which was often pushed on them.  I look at myself and my family, and I see some of that disappearing.  I do not want it to.  I do not want to sear my conscience and my sensibilities.  How about you?  Who is your model?  I now look to the model of my father-in-law (currently suffering at the end stages of Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases).  He models true faith in Jesus Christ and his inerrant Word.  He modeled true commitment and sacrifice to his family.  He even accepted a foolish and often weak son-in-law, marrying his oldest daughter (that would be me).  And he modeled a reliance on God’s strength, not government.

July 17, 2009 - Posted by | Family, Important Quotes, politics

1 Comment »

  1. Well said my friend. I have many models, I consider you and Lynn to be among them.

    Comment by Rob Sayler | July 17, 2009


Leave a Reply

